Kindergarten covers the first two years of a young child’s life at school. It is an exciting period for young children and we provide an opportunity for young minds to explore, develop and learn. Our children will learn through play and most importantly, begin the exciting journey of learning to read.

As a British Curriculum school, we ensure that all children experience the seven areas of learning which are set out in the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework. These areas are as follows:

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Literacy
  •  Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

Our children will develop in all these areas through a balance of play, adult modelling, observing each other, guided learning and direct teaching.

In KG1,

we focus on developing language skills and interpersonal relationships. We do this by concentrating on exploring the everyday environment, developing sensory skills and enhancing fine motor skills. This takes place through the core subjects of English, Arabic and Mathematics.

In KG2,

the emphasis shifts to a more academic focus. Students begin to work more on their literacy, communication and language skills in English and Arabic, and their numeracy skills in Mathematics. Additionally, they will also learn more about the world around them.

In order to cater to the needs of our children, we offer a fully bilingual programme where all aspects of the curriculum are taught both in English and Arabic. Kindergarten also provides a great foundation for our children to develop in social engagement. Socialisation is one of the best ways for a child to develop emotionally. Moreover, allowing our child to learn how to interact with others is a key skill that will benefit them throughout their lives.

Teacher directed and self-selected play and exploration form the basis of the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Curriculum and these pedagogies are designed for children to develop inquisitive minds from the very beginning. All seven areas of the EYFS Framework are addressed in the teaching model to ensure optimum learning is achieved.